The Celtic Fire Festivals Samhain, Oimelc, Bealtaine & Lughnassadh

The Celtic Fire Festivals by Neil Giles

(Neil Giles is a storyteller, astrologer and historian. He is a novelist and journalist and has written for theatre, radio and television, as well as many articles for AstroScope Me)

Contrary to popular belief, the Celts did not celebrate the solstice or equinox. These celebrations have been brought into practice later in history, more to honour Celtic custom than as a proper part of it..

There are four traditional Celtic festivals, known as the fire festivals. They were celebrated annually and are known as the festival of Samhain (ends & beginnings), that of Oimelc (a quickening), that of Bealtaine (fertility) and the festival of Lughnassadh (harvest & victory). They were based on seasonal changes and not calendar dates. Therefore they need to be honoured at the appropriate time in the cycle of seasons. Thus they will occur at opposite ends of the calendar in the Northern and the Southern Hemispheres.

Read more about Celtic Fire Festivals at my website at:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s